Author: shauna1203



Scott N. Atkinson

Scott N. Atkinson is the Senior Director of Communications & External Relations for USA Water Ski & Wake Sports and the Editor of The Water Skier magazine, the official publication of USA Water Ski & Wake Sports.

The USA Water Ski Show Team won the team title at the 2012, 2014, 2016 and 2018 world championships.

The National Show Ski Association, a sport discipline organization of USA Water Ski & Wake Sports, has announced the athletes who will comprise the 2022 USA Water Ski Show Team at the 5th IWWF World Water Ski Show Tournament, presented by Visit Central Florida, Oct. 22-23, 2022, on Lake Silver in Winter Haven, Fla. The tournament is considered the capstone event of the sport’s 100th year in 2022.

The team rosters for the IWWF World Water Ski Show Tournament are limited to 35 total members and four alternates, including skiers, boat drivers, announcers and show directors. Matt Heilman (Verona, Wis.) and David Rezin (Janesville, Wis.) are the co-show directors for the 2022 USA Water Ski Show Team. 

Athletes that have been selected to the 2021 USA Water Ski Show Team are (alphabetical order): Dave Anderson (Bettendorf, Iowa), Garrett Bouley (Bradenton, Fla.), Travis Bouley (Bradenton, Fla.), Cody Coffey (Medinah, Ill.), Caroline Grubs (White Bear Lake, Minn.), Pete Hegarty (Winter Haven, Fla.),  Bailey Hyatt (Winter Haven, Fla.), Tyler Hyatt (Winter Haven, Fla.), Brea Imse (Wheeling, Ill.), Kevin Jack (Winter Haven, Fla.), Dan Jaworski (Monona, Wis.), Anne Judd (Lake Elmo, Wis.), Liam Klotzbach (Monona, Wis.), Bob Koehler (Lake Geneva, Wis.), Kailey Koehler (Lake Geneva, Wis.), Kendall Krieger (Lake Bluff, Ill.), Noah Leach (Aberdeen, S.D.), Darian LeBlanc (Winter Haven, Fla.), Arik Lebda (Buffalo Grove, Ill.), Ginny McGinnis (Edgerton, Wis.), Whitney Messenger (Holly, Mich.), Grace Petzold (Mequon, Wis.), Jayson Rishling (Lake Geneva, Wis.), Joe Sawaska (Winter Haven, Fla.), Katrina Sardenga (Clearwater, Fla.), Adam Schaller (Mount Horeb, Wis.), Ethan Shulda (Twin Lakes, Wis.), Keith St. Onge (Winter Haven, Fla.), Michael Thornton (Wonder Lake, Ill.), Austin Walstad (Zumbrota, Minn.), Angela Yauchler (Winter Haven, Fla.), Geno Yauchler (Winter Haven, Fla.) and Rachael Zenk (Vadnais Heights, Minn.). 

Athletes selected as alternates are: Caleb Ross (Sarasota, Fla.), Craig Planton (Waterford, Mich.), Derek Buchman (Chetek, Wis.), Kaila Coffey (Medinah, Ill.) and Paige Peshina (Malvern, Ohio).

The management team will consist of: Dan Wang (Verona, Wis.), Brad Satterlee (Sarasota, Fla.), Shauna Pasanen (Winter Haven, Fla.), and Nick Dries (Brookfield, Wis.).

In competitive show skiing, each club has one hour to present a theatrical performance on water skis. Judges score acts by awarding points based on originality, presentation and execution. Elaborate costumes and staging intermix with music and fast action on the water as an announcer leads the audience through the show.

The USA Water Ski Show Team won the team title at the 2012, 2014, 2016 and 2018 world championships. The 2020 world championships, which was to be held in Yarrawonga, NSW, Australia, was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. In addition to the United States, the tournament has featured all-star show ski teams from Australia, Belgium, Canada, China and Germany (2018). Each team performs two shows over the course of the weekend with the highest-scoring performance determining the champion. The previous events have been in held in Huntsville, Ontario, Canada (2018), Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. (2016) and Janesville, Wis. (2014, 2012).

You can donate to the 2022 USA Water Ski Show Team to help offset its expenses by clicking here.